Under the weather…

I’ve had a nasty cold these last few days… I guess I can’t complain since I rarely ever get sick but  I am still blaming that little girl that sneezed on me from the pew behind us at a wedding last weekend!  I am the worst sick person – I hate ‘taking it easy’, I hate naps and I also discovered recently that I really hate coughing.  Well, my husband may hate my coughing a little bit more than I do – bless him for not sleeping in the guest room!

I remember being sick was much more fun when I was younger… chicken soup and popsicles would just magically appear from Mom (ugh, I actually have to walk all the way down the stairs now and make food for myself?!), cough syrup didn’t taste as bad (where is my yummy flavored Dimetapp… Vicks Formula 44 burns more than a shot my husband would order) and Fraggle Rock and Jem were much more entertaining to me than any daytime talk show around today (well, except Mr. Nate Berkus!)!  So needless to say these last few days have been rough here in the Palace.

I did muster the strength to look into and try some natural cold remedies however… let’s just say I may or may not have a thick layer of Vick’s VapoRub on my feet right now.  After coating my chest and neck and then breaking out in some wonderful looking rash I had no choice but to find somewhere else to put it!

I was most eager about this remedy however… Apple Cider Vinegar. I love apples, especially apple cider, and certainly thought this was the answer to prayers! It was all natural and something I well, my Mom, already had in the pantry!

Mix a little apple cider vinegar with honey and drink. It is said to help clear chest congestion and help with controlling cough.

Sounds easy peasy to me!

So I mixed, sipped, tried to swallow, and then spit it out. Worst. Taste. EVER.  I don’t know who came up with this idea but I’d rather literally cough up a lung than swallow the tiniest sip of this mixture.  I had high hopes for this lovely vinegar martini but I just couldn’t do it.  The burning/salty/sweet taste can never be erased from my mouth!! I’ve even contemplated diluting one teaspoon in a gallon of water but I think even that might be too much.

I envy those of you that can drink this mix and your congestion-free chests however I think it’s just me and and my VapoRub scented socks for the next few days….

Do you have any home remedies that don’t taste like death you rely on?!?!?

Thanks for reading my blog and commenting!!!

