Debrassifying the Palace

Welcome to the first installment of Debrassifying the Palace!

For some reason I have an unfounded hatred strong dislike of anything ‘yellow gold’… be it jewelry, buttons on clothing, accents on handbags – you name it – if it’s yellow gold, I don’t want it! My feelings are obviously the same towards brass as well… fixtures, knobs, fan accents, etc., so I’ve made it a personal goal of mine to Debrassify my house one project at a time!

The other day I realized I just couldn’t stare up at my bedroom ceiling fan one second longer.  We finally have the room almost finished and in my mind the brass accents on the fan were sticking out like a sore thumb. Ironically, when Hubby came home that day and saw the ‘new’ fan, he couldn’t even describe to me what the ‘old’ fan looked like, so I guess the brass accents were really only noticeable to me, but regardless I am beyond happy that the fan is now debrassified and new!

Here is our fan before. This is the view from the bed… you’ll see the main fan ‘hub’ at the top is brass as are the little doo-das (technical term, of course) that hold the blades on. Don’t even get me started on the gold band and flower on the globe… I will be making a trip to Home Depot later today for a plain, frosted globe to replace this one with!

So instead of buying a brand new, non-brass, fan and paying the electrician spending the time to install it, I stood on the bed with my screwdriver and started taking this guy apart.  I figured there had to be a way to remove the blades and hub. Sure enough, about 10 minutes later this guy was completely dismantled and ready to be debrassified!

I took the hub and blades into the garage and grabbed my can of Rustoleum primer… just wanting the pieces to blend into the flat ceiling I figured this was my best choice as the primer is a nice, matte white – nothing fancy or shiny – and basically the same finish at the already-white blades.  Unfortunately the brass doo-das wouldn’t separate from the blades so I just took my time spraying them to ensure they wouldn’t stand out too much from the rest of the blade.

don’t worry, I didn’t spray Caesar

A few hours and several thin coats later….ta-da! No signs of brass!
Below is a shot of the ‘new’ fan in all of its non-brass glory!  It now blends in completely with the ceiling and no longer competes with the silver hardware on our bedroom furniture. Best of all, the new fan cost nothing at all since the spray paint was something I already had on hand. Just a few minutes of dismantiling, spray painting and re-assembly and our bedroom has a completely new ceiling fan!
Do you have brass accents in your home that you don’t love? Don’t spend money to replace them, just a few minutes is all you need to customize them into exactly what you want!

 

Come back next week to see what brass monstrosity accent I decide to tackle next!
Thanks for reading my blog and commenting!!!

