Monday Morning Inspiration…

Sure, we’ve all heard this quote (or a variation of it) ever since we were little but it’s important to take a step back sometimes and really think about how it applies to our life and daily challenges – be it your career, family life, a hobby, latest DIY project, etc. – if we all gave up when something was difficult the world would be a completely different place! I think everyone needs to pause and pat themselves on the back sometimes for persevering and accomplishing things they never thought were possible.

This particular saying hits home especially hard for me this week… On Sunday I’ll be running my first ever 5K! Eeeeeek!! Now, I know 3.2 miles is honestly not that far in the world of running, but to me… wow, this is huge! Yes, huge!!

This is the girl that would fake sick in gym class if she heard the class before her had to run the mile.  The girl who, just a few months ago, had to hop off the treadmill after 15 minutes (and felt just seconds away from death). Had I thrown in the towel after those 15 minute workout sessions instead of realizing they were getting easier each and every day, I would not be were I am today!

I don’t know what exactly changed, but something definitely clicked and turned running from something I’d never do voluntarily to a thing I actually look forward to. I love running. It’s crazy to even say, but it’s true.  I don’t mind the treadmill but really enjoy running outside – especially now that it’s getting cooler out (the fact that hubs got me a super cute pink Nike hood doesn’t hurt). I’m very proud of my progress!

I have accepted the fact that my dream of coming in first will more than likey not happen this weekend, and I’m ok with that, I will honestly be happy to just cross the finish line in the top 20. I’m running with 2 of my friends who are seasoned racers so I’m also hoping to not finish too far behind them.  I am thankful that I did not give up on running – the beginning was definitely the hardest but I’m happy I pushed through and found a new hobby.

The purpose of this post is not to try and convince you to start running.  I hope instead you will take a minute or two to think about a goal you want to achieve and start doing it! It might not be easy right away but if the girl with the 20 minute mile can now run a 5K you can certainly accomplish something that seems impossible to you, too!

Thanks for reading my blog and commenting!!!

