Grilled Pork Chops with Cherry Glaze recipe

I love all kinds of fruit but am a huge fan of cherries!  The white, Rainier variety are my favorite and we always buy a bag or two each time we visit the grocery store. Sometimes, we have so many in the house that they start to over ripen before we get to use them – obviously this bothers me 1) I don’t want to waste them! and 2) they’re not the cheapest fruit!

So lately I’ve been looking for a way to incorporate them into ‘meals’ as opposed to just being a snack.  I’ve halved them and added them to my cooked oatmeal (very tasty actually!) and included them on my lunch time salads but last night’s dinner took these little overripe cherries to a whole new level…

I took a handful of cherries and cut them down into smaller pieces – obviously being sure to remove the pit.

Next I started a simple syrup on the stove – I brought a 1/2 cup of water to a boil in a saucepan then added a little less than 1/2 cup of sugar (I used the Splenda baking blend).  I stirred this a bit to dissolve the sugar and added my cut cherries.

I put the lid back on and let it continue to boil for 5 more minutes.  I checked it at this point and used my spatula to mash the cherries and then put the lid back on. Hubby got the pork chops ready at this point. We kept it simple and topped them with some Weber Garlic & Herb seasoning and put them on the grill.

I turned down the heat slightly at this point and just kept checking the cherry mixture every few minutes.  Eventually the color starts to change and the glaze becomes a reddish brown color (non-rainier cherries turn the mixture a bright red).

At this point you can ‘customize’ your glaze by adding in some water – since mine was on the stove longer than I planned for (the pork chops took a bit longer to cook) I slowly added water in to change the consistency (mine was borderline cherry candy prior to adding more water!).  Just be sure to quickly stir the glaze for a minute or so after adding water to be sure it mixes well.

Once your glaze reaches your desired thickness just pour over your pork chops and enjoy! Serve it up with some grilled corn on the cob and you have yourself an easy, delicious summer dinner!

Yum!!

Thanks for reading my blog and commenting!!!

