Dream House Show & Tell!

I’m linking up today with the Show and Tell featured by From Mrs To Mama about Dream Houses!  I love admiring other peoples’ homes and am constantly checking real estate listings in our area. I don’t even like packing for vacation so I have no desire to ever pack up my house and move again, but it’s fun to daydream about mansions and acres & acres of property!

1. If you were searching for a home now, tell me what would be on your “MUST” list.
When we were house hunting two years ago for our forever home we had 4 main ‘Must-Haves’:

  • a large Master Bathroom (have I mentioned my beauty-product obsession?)
  • a downstairs office (that we could potentially convert to a living space for Hub’s grandfather)
  • a fenced in yard (Caesar loves to do laps in the backyard!)
  • an in-ground pool (crazy, I know, but we both grew up with pools and really wanted one of our own!)

The final home we chose only had the first 2 musts!  At the time, we chose the more move-in ready home with half of what we really wanted over the fixer-upper homes that may have had everything wanted but required much more updating and renovating than we wanted to take on (pools with missing tile and cracks marked ‘as is’ did not give us a warm and fuzzy feeling).  We planned on installing a fence right away and were excited about the opportunity to have our pool installed to our specifications!

Well, two years later and we are still fence- and pool-less! Caesar has learned the boundaries of his back yard and we have replaced sunbathing poolside with reading on the deck!  After receiving a few pool estimates and almost having a heart attack I sometimes wish we’d  have kept searching for the perfect house that had everything we really wanted but we love our home and couldn’t imagine living anywhere else! We are fortunate to have almost everything we ever wanted in a safe and friendly neighborhood.  Though…we’re still trying to save for our pool! :)

2. Show me your favorite room in a home {either your home, or any home, i.e. kitchen}.
My favorite room is definitely the bathroom – I dream of spa-like finishes and my cares melting away in a giant soaking tub!  The one thing missing from my bathroom daydreams however is a vanity, I’m guessing because ours is always a mess! Between my face creams, hair products and make-up poor Hubs has just enough space to keep his razor and toothbrush!  However, I seem to think we’d have no problem keeping our vanity organized if it looked like this…

His and her vessel sinks, a make-up vanity, a medicine cabinet, storage underneath and a TV?!? What more can you need?!

3. If you could have any room redone, tell me which one would it be and what would you like done?
Sure there are things I’d like to change in my home (hardwoods, colors, etc) but given the funds to re-do any room I would chose my Parent’s kitchen!  Though still functional it definitely is dated and lacking in counter space… and a dishwasher!!! I’d love to update their cabinets, countertops and flooring to make the space a bit more modern and enjoyable for them.

4.Tell me where your favorite stores are to shop for home decor. 
I am a Home Goods junkie – I just can’t get enough! I love that you can find different things every time you go!  I also frequent Pier 1 – I love strolling around and imagining where I’d put all of the pretty accessories in my home!

5.Show me your dream home {it can be your home as well} 
I’d love to walk up my winding walkway to this…

Sleep in a room like this…
Oh, and maybe have a backyard like this… :)

A girl can dream, right?!

Thanks for reading my blog and commenting!!!

