Fall Apothecary Jar version 2.0

I apologize for another blog hiatus – this one is due in part to the quick trip we took to Disney World for the Tower of Terror 10 Miler (recap coming soon!) and the fact that Hubby’s Grandfather’s house finally sold! Yay! The closing was scheduled for Monday but has been pushed back a bit since the buyer’s are getting an FHA loan and they demanded requested many repairs.  We’ve spent every non-sleeping and non-working hour over there since the beginning on the month and I can finally see a tiny glimmer of light at the end of the tunnel. Finally!

I thought I’d repost a popular DIY from last Fall that has been getting many hits recently thanks to Pinterest.  Feel free to pin this year’s jar and mantle, too! :)

Fall Apothecary Jar

This great and easy Fall Decoration you can put together in only a few minutes that can make a huge statement on your mantle or dining room table!

Last year my Mom purchased a box of small pumpkins and gourds after Halloween at Michael’s on major clearance.  They vary anywhere from about 3-5 inches long and are different colored – some even have an icy, glittery look to them!  I wanted to find a way to display them without having to set them all out individually so I gathered my box o’gourds, some leaves (mine are faux but real ones could work too) and some corks.

You can use a vase or big glass bowl for this project, this time around I chose an apothecary jar I usually have about an eighth full with corks on the hearth of my fireplace.

I set out my materials – in this case pumpkins, leaves and corks…


And then the fun begins! Just start arranging until you find a look you like. I started first with leaves at the bottom and quickly noticed that no one would see them so I dumped everything else and started over.  I found the corks to be the most substanial ‘bottom’ and just started adding things one at a time until I had this:

I added some more leaves and corks and in a few minutes had this:

Finally, after a few re-dos to ensure this piece looked just like I pictured, my new Fall Apothecary Jar was complete and on display on our Mantle.

As you can see, this project was SUPER easy and very fun to put together!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This year, I actually forgot to include chose to leave out the corks and used only the pumpkins, gourds and leaves.

I also have a few new accessories: my mercury glass Owl (thanks, Kohls!) and fun sequin pumpkin from HomeGoods.  Also, the walls are now a nice, neutral gray – yay!
I love modifying my decorations each year… they’re familiar and give me a cozy feeling but also feel new at the same time!

2 thoughts on “Fall Apothecary Jar version 2.0

  1. I love those kinds of jars and things I need ot find me some. I really haven’t decorated. Maybe I will check the storage today. Thursdays are always a good day.

Thanks for reading my blog and commenting!!!

